This was our one hundred-eighth Courthouse in Texas to visit. That means we are at 42.5% of our goal with 57.5% left to go.

Kent County was formed from Young and Bexar territories. It was created August 21, 1876 organized November 8, 1892 and named in honor of Andrew Kent who fell at the Alamo. 

Clairmont was  the county seat in 1892. Jayton has been the county seat since 1952.